Midweek recap / Korea advances to U16 AFC Championship Final

Quick recap: U16 AFC Championship semifinal -Lee Seung-Woo beasts it up + Barca teamate Jang Gyeol-Hee getting in on the scoring fun in a 7-1 romp over Syria, Asian Games mens and womens squads positive starts to their tourney, but Champions League setback for Bayer Leverkusen while in the Asian Champions League semis FC Seoul draws ominously with Western Sydney Wanders…

Tuesday: Champions League group play began with Bayer Leverkusen 1-0 loss at Monaco. Son and several other BL players had amazing chances to score but couldn’t convert – they paid for it in the 2nd half with the lone 2nd half Monaco opportunity coming through for them.
Ji Dong-Won still injured, his new teammate at Borussia Dortmund Ciro Immobile scored the 1st goal against Arsenal. Aubameyang nailed the 2nd to win 2-0 at home in their first group match.
English Championship:

Kim Bo-Kyung wasn’t in 18 at Cardiff vs Middlesbrough – the losses mounting led to this yesterday:

Lee Chung-Yong played very well coming in off the bench in a 3-2 win for Bolton at Rotherham United.
Wednesday tons of Korea action:
U16 AFC Championship semi Korea 7 Syria 1   Barca academy player Lee Seung-Woo created 5, assisted officially on 4. His Barca teammate Jang Gyeol-Hee scored 2. He got pulled down in the box, the PK was taken by LSW for his 1 goal of the evening. Jang’s best game so far. Meanwhile Lee continues to beast it up in this tourney; every Taeguk Warrior supporter is jonesin’ at the thought of Lee and Jang and possibly more from this talented squad eventually making their way to the senior squad. With North Korea edging Australia on PKs in the other semi, this sets up a Saturday all Korea finals match between North and South. For more on the match, Steve Han wrote in Koream on coach Choi Jin-cheul tactical change that made Lee a playmaker.
Saturday U16 AFC Championship Final:  South Korea vs North Korea  7am EST / 8pm Korea Time

  • Asian Champions League Semifinal 1st leg FC Seoul 0: 0 Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Men’s Asian Games: 1-0 win over Saudi Arabia -Kim Seung-dae with the goal, Kim Shin-Wook and Yun Il-Lok both injured. The ‘Wookie’ should be able to return later in the tournament, while Yun has a more serious knee injury. Here’s Kim’s goal:
  • Women’s Asian Games: 10-0 win over India – high scoring Women might do even more damage in the next match against Maldives, seeing how India earlier beat Maldives 15-0, you do the math.

 

Upcoming fixtures:

  • U16 AFC Championship Final: Saturday Sept 20  Korea vs Korea  7am EST / 8pm Korea Time
  • Asian Games men’s last group match Sunday Sept 21  Korea vs Laos  4am EST / 5pm Korea Time
  • Asian Games women’s last group match Sunday Sept 21  Maldives vs Korea 4am EST / 5pm Korea Time
  • Asian Champions League Semifinal  Oct 1st   Western Sydney Wanderers vs FC Seoul (2nd leg) 5:30 am EST / 6:30 pm Korea Time

 

About Roy Ghim 391 Articles
The old Tavern Owner