World Cup 2018: Where are you watching?

Here at the Tavern, when the World Cup rolls around, all we can think of is gathering in a crowd of red shirts, banging the Korean drums, and chanting “Daehanminguk!!” So, with just a few weeks until kick-off in Russia, we wanted to put this page together to give all our readers a forum to share where they’ll be watching the World Cup. Tell us about the local events you’re going to, the parties you’re hosting, or even share stories of your trips to Russia! We want to know how everyone is taking in this World Cup so that we can gather together and experience the rush of the World Cup as a team!

So, here’s the mission for you. Get active in the comments below and share your ideas for ways we can get together to cheer on our Taeguk Warriors. For our Chicago readers, I’m looking for a bar open early for us to take over and fill with Daehanminguk chants! Over the next couple days, our Tavern writers are going to post up where they’re going to be watching the World Cup so you might see us there! Here are the group stage matches with kick-off times in as many time zones as I can think of!

Sweden vs. Korea Republic, Nizhny Novgorod Stadium, Monday, June 18, 8 AM EST/7 AM CST/5 AM PST/9 PM KST

Korea Republic vs. Mexico, Rostov Arena, Saturday, June 23, 11 AM EST/10 AM CST/8 AM PST/12 AM KST

Korea Republic vs. Germany, Kazan Arena, Wednesday, June 27, 10 AM EST/9 AM CST/7 AM PST/ 11 PM KST

 

**** the comment section here might be closed – in case you can’t add your watch party below in the comment section, email hitaegukwarrior@gmail.com and we’ll add it up here.

Please be advised, when you send your event listing, please include all the necessary info (address, time/date, contact info, website, social media, email, etc).  Also be advised, here at the Tavern we can’t vet these watch parties/events are, so check and double check, use your judgement on the events listed and please check with the updated links provided by the individual groups in case of last minute changes/cancellation of events, etc.

NEW UPDATE: If you’re anywhere near LA, this:

I help run the Koreatown Supporters Group for LAFC and we (TSG- Tigers Supporters Group) will be hosting watch parties for all Korea group games.

We’ll be at Biergarten (206 N. western ave) for Sweden. Would love to link up with any Tavern fans there!

Check our IG for updates: https://www.instagram.com/lafc_tsg/

-TSG Josh

 

 

 

11 Comments

  1. I’ll be in New York City for the World Cup. Anyone know of any watch parties? I’m sure there will be a few in Ktown, I just haven’t researched.

  2. LOL THAT’S LA KTOWN
    I will be watching from LA. Will likely watch at home unfortunately given timing and work

  3. I’ll be in Boston and probably be watching it at home with my friends. I may go to LA at some point but we’ll see for now. No matter where I am, I’m gonna find the time to watch all of Korea’s games!

  4. Chicago people, I have been doing some research and come up with two options that could work. Fado Irish Pub is booking group parties for all matches, so we can go that route. Another option is The Shelby in Humboldt Park, a bar where I’ve watched EPL so I imagine they will also show the World Cup!

Join in the Tavern's conversations -Leave a comment...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.